cars

Hello, Allpar Forums member or visitor! If you were an active member (more than two posts) or subscriber, you would not see this ad!

Register for a free account or Sign in (see top right of page for Facebook/Open ID login icons).

Photo
- - - - -

How to tell if brake booster is bad - and how to replace!

6 replies to this topic

#1 wambus

wambus
  • 78 posts

Posted February 3, 2013 at 03:30 pm

I have 99 Grand Caravan.  I apologize for not searching for an answer, but the search function here seems to be producing odd results.

I have been fighting with a brake problem for a couple of years now; I have posted about this before.  Today I took another look at the rear drums.  It appears that the one remaining from when the van was new was seized up.  I already had planned on replacing it, so that it fixed. 

Now, I have been told that the brake booster is bad.  The symptoms are primarily grabby brakes on the first push, an sometimes hard brakes (so my wife says).  I was talking to a guy at the parts store and he asked me if the brakes make a Woosh sound when the pedal is pushed.  I staed that yes, they did,  He told me the booster is bad.  Is this true?  Are there other possible things to check?  If it is bad, how the heck do I get it out of the engine bay?  Looks as though the intake must come off.....

#2 ImperialCrown

ImperialCrown
  • Supporters
  • Others:Forum Leader
  • 11,785 posts
Garage View Garage

Posted February 3, 2013 at 03:44 pm

A 'whoosh' while holding the pedal down would be a vacuum leak from a torn internal diaphragm.  The booster would need replacement. 

If the master cylinder is leaking brake fluid out the rear cup into the booster, the cylinder would be needing replacement as well.

The 'wiper bucket' can be removed to open up a whole lot more room to get at things in the engine compartment.

#3 valiant67

valiant67

Rich, Corinthian Leather

• Supporters III
  • Others:Forum Leader
  • 22,482 posts
Garage View Garage