cars

allpar, the Chrysler - Dodge - Jeep car and truck site

Hello, Allpar Forums member or visitor! If you were an active member (more than two posts) or subscriber, you would not see this ad!

Register for a free account or Sign in (see top right of page for Facebook/Open ID login icons).

Photo

2000 Suzuki Grand Vitara V6 overheating and AC quits

7 replies to this topic

#1 Bearhawke

Bearhawke

Things happen for a reason

• Others:Forum Leader
  • 12,858 posts

Posted May 12, 2013 at 06:38 pm

Note I'm a brake and suspension tech so my knowledge of underhood repair is limited at best,

My G/F's 2000 Suzuki Grand Vitara 2.5L V6 2WD 5 spd stick is starting to run rather hot and once the temp gauge gets much past the 1/2 mark, the AC quits blowing cold. Yes; both the electric pusher and mechanical fans remain on; however, unbeknownst to me, the pusher was disconnected so I plugged it back in. Truck has about 115K miles on it.

I 'hit' the upper and lower radiator hoses with a temp gun and the upper is ca. 190F (200F at the radiator proper by the upper hose) with the lower coolant pipe about 150F or thereabouts. I suspect thermostat which is where the lower coolant pipe goes back into the motor but want to make reasonably sure before I start throwing parts at this thing. 

What does concern me is a possible blown head gasket. :(

#2 TWX

TWX

DO NOT FEED THE TROLLS!

• Supporters
  • 8,871 posts
Garage View Garage

Posted May 12, 2013 at 08:24 pm

Well, In your shoes I'd pressure-test the cooling system and possibly do a pressure leak-down test of each cylinder, pressurizing with an air compressor and seeing if that pressure is lost, and if so, trying to figure out if it's out through somewhere that could be the head gasket.

I did some Internet searching, and it does not sound like the temp ranges that you mention are really all that out-of-whack for normal driving.  Remember, there are a lot of thermostats that do not even open up until 160°F, 180°F, or higher.