Hello, Allpar Forums member or visitor! If you were a member, you would not see this ad!

Register or log in at the top right of the page...

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1988 dodge w150 318 4wd doesn't work but T case is engaging

Discussion in 'Pre-1994 trucks, commercial vehicles' started by upser145, Dec 10, 2017.

1. upser145

upser145 Member

my 1988 w150 that I haven't had for long i recently found out the 4wd isn't working it has manual locking hubs and i made sure to lock them and i can put the tcase in 4wd and get under the truck and can no longer turn the front driveshaft by hand but the front tires won't pull so it seems the tcase is engaging. I've heard some people say to lock my CAD and it could fix it but being that I have little experience with a 4wd front end I'm not sure if locking it would be good or possibly a bad idea or what exactly it does any help would be greatly appreciated. also noted the first time i ecer put it in 4wd it felt almost as if it was popping in and out of 4wd and kinda hopped when i hit a dry patch of road like it would if it was in 4wd but I've never been able to get the fronts to spin

2. Devildodge

Devildodge Active Member

Do you know if the manual hubs where added by someone. If you have C.A.D. then someone did. The C.A.D. Did away with the manual hubs.

If you do still have C.A.D. you can lock it yourself, or buy a kit.

V10 RAM getting some due rest and rectification of Pennsylvania abuse. (at https://www.allpar.com/forums/threads/v10-ram-getting-some-due-rest-and-rectification-of-pennsylvania-abuse.164786/ )

You can check out this link, it is my challenge with C.A.D.

If your truck came with manual hubs it wouldn't have C.A.D., so if it does I am not real sure why someone would do that modification.

Let us know some more info and we will be glad to help.

3. Devildodge

Devildodge Active Member