AF: 360 build camshafts | Allpar Forums
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

360 build camshafts

Discussion in 'Projects, mods, restoration' started by Lane Perkins, Sep 13, 2020.

1. Lane Perkins

Lane Perkins New Member

Hello. I am new to the gas scene (mostly a diesel guy) and I am planning on building a 360 la for my 87 Ramcharger. I have headers with a good exhaust, Edelbrock rpm intake and nicely ported stock heads. I will be stroking the engine to 408ci with a forged Scat crank and plan on adding a 75-100 shot Of nitrous. Trans is a torqueflite 727 with 3000 stall converter. The part I’m having trouble with is picking a camshaft for the build. It will be used for mostly street driving with occasional drag racing and mud bogging. I anyone can help me find the right setup for this I would greatly appreciate it.

2. Lane Perkins

Lane Perkins New Member

For simplicity I’ll be sticking with a flat Tappet cam

3. DC-93

DC-93 Well-Known Member

Get ahold of Racer Brown.

4. AC TC

AC TC Well-Known Member

A Hughes 290 hyd, it may seem big but..
    - it takes advantage of the larger mopar lifter, no chevy lobes.
    - you have both displacement and converter to make up for its weak but for its size civilized low end.
    - consider going to a singleplane intake.
    Your heads will the limiting factor, even good ported production heads are lousy.
    - get an oilcooler for the tranny, itll need it with that converter. Consider your gearing.

5. dana44

Ad-Free Member