Hello, Allpar Forums member or visitor! If you were a member, you would not see this ad!

Register or log in at the top right of the page...

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Alternator Regulator 1968 a108 318

Discussion in 'Vans' started by hillbillybuddha, Sep 7, 2016.

1. hillbillybuddha

hillbillybuddha New Member

I picked up this van a few months ago but I'm just getting into it. Looking at the "work" the PO did has me scratching my head. I'm going over the electrical and comparing it to the wiring diagram and nothing seems to line up yet. I think I'll be able to figure most of it but the Alt Reg isn't marked so, I'm not sure which wires go where. or, if the PO added an internally regulated alt.

I've added three pictures. (if the pictures don't load, you can click on the "did not load" image and it should take you to my photobucket account)

Picture (A) Alternator:

*Green wire (marked with blue on picture) goes from Alt to Alt Reg.
    *Thin Blk Wire (marked with orange on picture) connects from Alt to Alt.
    *Thick Blk Wire (marked in purple) goes towards the front of the van, but I have not yet followed it all the way.

[​IMG]

Picture (B) Alternator Regulator:

*Green Wire (Marked in Blue on Picture) from alternator.
    *Red Wire (marked in Purple) goes nowhere. It just dangles freely.
    *Blk Wire (marked in orange) goes to ground, under ballast resister.

[​IMG]

Picture (C) Underside of Alt Reg (downloaded from JCWhittney)

self explanatory.
    [​IMG]

My Questions: