Hello, Allpar Forums member or visitor! If you were a member, you would not see this ad!

Register or log in at the top right of the page...

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Historical Mopar in Nascar - II

Discussion in 'Historical' started by Beentherebefore, Oct 19, 2013.

1. Beentherebefore

Level III Supporter

Riverside Raceway, June,1970 "Golden State 400" Riverside, Calif

I had been attending races @ this track since 1966, waiting for a Mopar victory. After a long string of domination by Fords, mostly driven by Dan Gurney, and some frustratingly close to victory Mopar finishes (mostly by their USAC based drivers), this was the breakthrough race.

Article is from the "Los Angeles Times" - hope it is still legible after almost 45 years. How about this for publicity for Mopar? The paper had circulation of over a million readers back then.

[​IMG]

Attached Files:

2. MoparNorm

MoparNorm Active Jeeper
    Level III Supporter

Shav Glick was a legendary motorsports writer. It was cool to see that again!

3. dyslexic teddybear

dyslexic teddybear Active Member

Good article.

Very different from todays Nascar, isn't it?

My understanding is there was a very.......strong...... rivalry between Petty and Allison. IIRC reading something from Kyle Petty about growing up around racing, Richard and Bobby were NOT friends.

You have anything on this?

4. Beentherebefore

Level III Supporter

He won many awards for his motorsports coverage. i was going to attach pictures I shot at practice for this race to go along with the article but they wouldn't post. I'm going to work at it some more.
    As a matter of fact, McLaughlin, the author who's link I started the other historical Nascar thread with, had just such a story on the Petty-Allison rivalry. I think you can possibly click on the link again and maybe work backwards from thete. If I see it again, I'll link it for you.

5. Beentherebefore