AF: I Tried To Buy a 14 Chrysler 200 Story Time | Allpar Forums
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Tried To Buy a 14 Chrysler 200 Story Time

Discussion in '200, Avenger/Sebring, Cirrus/Stratus/Breeze' started by Citation84, Nov 27, 2019.

1. Citation84

Citation84 Well-Known Member

Woke up Saturday obsessed with the Sebring/200 and this time ready to pull the trigger. Found a 72,000 mile one on a lot here in Tucson with a respectable Car Fax and $8995.

That's about the same mileage as the car I'm driving [05 ION ] but I have been eyeing the Sebring/200 for a couple of years now. And this car, though a previous rental had a lot more of everything. A lot has changed in nine years.

It was a beautiful "true blue metallic". Not silver, white or black [thanks to the gawds]. So I put in my name and number on the internet site. And planned to go see it that Sunday with my little bro.

The salesman called back, said they were closed on Sunday. That was fine. He also said I could take it to get it checked by a third party mechanic.

So I went after church the next day [surprise no smell of sulphur or spinning head here]. Had to park across the street [four lanes of traffic on Speedway].

I went over that lot looking in every lane corner stack like a bum looking for aluminum cans and.... car was nowhere to be seen. Neither were the two Calibers I might have examined that were featured on their web site.

There was one 14 200 in Silver with 90,000 miles on it and paint fading on the roof for the same $8995 price.

I went around that lot a couple of times, not trusting that it wasn't there until it finally sunk in: no Chrysler 200 this week.

Top top it off all that lumbering around set off a sciatica/ bursitis episode in the middle of the night. That'll teach me.