Hello, Allpar Forums member or visitor! If you were a member, you would not see this ad!

Register or log in at the top right of the page...

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Liberty's Offroad

Discussion in 'Cherokee, Liberty, Nitro' started by MoparNorm, May 19, 2011.

  1. Zagnut27

    Zagnut27 Jeepaholic
    Level 2 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes:
    3,521
    I bought my Liberty Renegade new back in 2002 (an 03 model) because I needed more room than my 98 wrangler could handle. I used the wrangler as a daily driver, but also for light off roading on dirt trails with some fallen tree obstacles possible, and of course the snow. I used my Liberty in a similar fashion for about 9 years, and now use it primarily for hauling the dogs/stuff, and for the snow...it's darn good in the snow. I live in the country, but work in Philly and find it useful climbing over curbs and other obstacles from the darn road crews. It's built like a tank. My wife's Encore went over a curb, and the all wheel drive turned off for Pete's sake!
    I would love a modernized version of the Liberty, or something better, but I need three rows...we've got newborn twins with lots of stuff. Maybe the Wagoneer if/when it ever arrives??
     
    RonGD likes this.
  2. WS23Mopar

    WS23Mopar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    Likes:
    190
    Bought an 07 Liberty because my wife needed a vehicle and I've always grown up with Jeeps. Easy to maneuver, cheap parts, solid winter performer (just had a 34" storm) and she liked the way it looked/drove. We've put 120k on it and will drive it til it dies!
     
    RonGD and Zagnut27 like this.
  3. Zagnut27

    Zagnut27 Jeepaholic
    Level 2 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes:
    3,521
    I was looking at the Frankenlift II Premium Kit. Reasonable price, and seems like it includes everything you need. I am curious though, I saw a different maker and they said their's wasn't compatible with the Renegade for some reason. Not sure why that would be...
     
  4. MoparNorm

    MoparNorm Active Jeeper
    Level III Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    31,153
    Likes:
    7,679
    The Renegade and KJ have completely different suspensions so I wouldn't think they would be compatible, unless I misunderstood your comment?
    Yes the Frankenlift includes everything you need.
     
  5. Zagnut27

    Zagnut27 Jeepaholic
    Level 2 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes:
    3,521
    A little misunderstanding! I have a Liberty Renegade (not the little Jeep!), and I believe that one of the companies that I saw with lift kits for the KJ said theirs wasn't compatable with the Renegade version of the KJ (I would have to search again to find out which company, I visited a lot of sites!). It just didn't make sense to me because I can't imagine there was that much variation in the suspension set up between the different versions of the KJ...sport, limited, and renegade, although I am absolutely no expert. And Frankenlift doesn't seem to make any distinction, so I guess it's a moot point anyway. (If I can find the other company, I'll post it so at least you don't think I'm nuts...not completely anyway....lol.)
     
  6. Zagnut27

    Zagnut27 Jeepaholic
    Level 2 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes:
    3,521
    Ha! I found it! It was Rough Country Suspension Systems, and it's the 3 inch Jeep suspension lift kit. It says it does not fit Diesel engine models, or renegade models. Weird to me, but I don't know enough to know why this would be the case...
     
  7. MoparNorm

    MoparNorm Active Jeeper
    Level III Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    31,153
    Likes:
    7,679
    Oh, duh! Got it! The Renegade KJ, AFAIK, was just a body trim package (I actually like the hood and grill better than the standard KJ) it may have had the HD springs, but so are the Frankenlift. Call Heather or Quinn @ All J's (909) 866-4800 and ask him, he will give you the straight scoop. Tell them I sent you.
     
  8. Zagnut27

    Zagnut27 Jeepaholic
    Level 2 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes:
    3,521
    Ok, thanks Norm!
     
  9. Zagnut27

    Zagnut27 Jeepaholic
    Level 2 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes:
    3,521
    I emailed them, and spoke with Heather. She said the Frankenlift definitely is compatible with the Liberty Renegade. She said to call if I had any more questions. They seem like very cool people, I will definitely contact them when I am ready to proceed.
    Thanks for the referral, you rock!
     
    MoparNorm likes this.
  10. Grump

    Grump Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes:
    3
    I decided to trade my 2001 Chrysler T&C LX in on a 2005 Jeep Liberty Limited because of a photography addiction. I keep going further and further into the wild and every time I hear that awful clunking and scraping sound coming from the undercarriage, I think I need more ground clearance. My last foray almost left me stranded. I got the photo below and managed to get back down the hill and started shopping the next day. I take delivery tomorrow. Boy am I excited. :D

    [​IMG]

    Jim
     
    #30 Grump, Jul 31, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 31, 2015
    Zagnut27 likes this.
  11. Zagnut27

    Zagnut27 Jeepaholic
    Level 2 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes:
    3,521
    Wow, nice pic! Yup, extra ground clearance is definitely a good thing. Useful for getting over debris, and small obstacles such as small trees or logs, and for water fording. Good off-road tires are helpful too. I have Goodyear Wrangler SR-A's on mine, and I've found them to be serviceable. They were the OEM tires for the Liberty Renegade I believe. But others on Allpar have suggested other makes and models as well. Skid plates would be helpful too, since you mentioned scraping the bottom of your vehicle. If you know all this already, forgive my blathering! Lol

    My Liberty is almost 13 years old now, with 157k miles on it, most of it in the first 8 years. She's been a good vehicle, very reliable. Have fun!!
     
    Grump likes this.
  12. Dave Z

    Dave Z It's me, Dave
    Staff Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    32,109
    Likes:
    14,535
    The photo appears when you log in with http:// (nonsecure) but not when you log in with https:// (secure). I don't know why it is not being cached, as is supposed to happen; it might be too large for cacheing.
     
  13. Grump

    Grump Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes:
    3
    Sorry, I haven't logged in for a while. I'm sure I posted that photo when I was logged into the allpar site via http because that's what the link in my bookmarks was to. I just now noticed you can visit this site via either http or https and you should not be able to do that. If this is a cPanel powered server, then it's a simple fix to redirect all traffic headed to any http page to the same page at https.
    Yeah, the scraping bottom was in my minivan, not the KJ. 'Course, I got over-confident in the Jeep a few times and scraped bottom in that too. But it wasn't long after I got the Jeep that I started adding skid plates one at a time. My engine, tranny and transfer case are all protected now.

    I also have a 3" lift (Australian OME springs & shocks and some JBA parts, with a few Moog bushings thrown in for good measure). The wheels and tires have been upgraded too - 245/75R16 Cooper Discoverer STT Pro on Vision 398 Manx rims. There's plenty of room in the back for my Segway, which I use as a mobility aide, and I carry an 8-pack of oxygen C-tanks. Now I have a Rola roof basket, which can hold a couple of o2 E-tanks and other gear. I can be out for nearly 24 hours without worrying about running out of oxygen.

    Now I wonder why I went so many years without a Jeep. My first was the Jeep I drove in Vietnam, then I got a 1965 Gladiator J2000 pickup in 1971. But after I traded that in for a Chevy Silverado in 1978, I was without a Jeep for 27 years. I love driving my Liberty.

    [​IMG]
     
    Zagnut27 likes this.
  14. Grump

    Grump Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes:
    3
    Well, now I see what you mean. I just posted another photos and it just shows an icon with a big red X on it. And I posted it from my own https enabled domain, so I don't know why there would be any caching. Maybe it caches the photo to resize it - yes, I usually post photos that are a maximum 1080px on the short side.

    Can you take the issue up with the site administrator? They might want to also add this or something similar to their .htaccess file so anyone who gets here via http with be automatically redirected to the https site:
    Code:
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(www\.)(.+) [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^(www\.)?(.+)
    RewriteRule ^ https://www.%2%{REQUEST_URI} [R=301,L]
    
     
  15. Dave Z

    Dave Z It's me, Dave
    Staff Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    32,109
    Likes:
    14,535
    I installed that code. It doesn't work. (It's in now.)

    All images that are uploaded are resized and cached. All images that are referenced are just cached. There's no automatic resize (and adding one is beyond me.)
     
  16. Grump

    Grump Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes:
    3
    Bummer. There are several different ways to do it using the .htaccess file though. I don't know what version of PHP you're using and that can have an effect. You can try this one instead:
    Code:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www\.allpar\.com$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://www.allpar.com/$1 [L,R=301]
    
    Don't forget to remove any similar code and this code should be at the top of the file. The .hataccess file I am referring to is the one in your root folder, not the /forums/ folder.

    An alternative would be to just open a support ticket with Liquid Web and ask them to fix your .hataccess file so that all inbound links land on the correct page for https and www.

    Actually, the xenForo forum software does it automatically. I converted my flooring forum to xenForo just last month, after 11 years on vBulletin. I'm really happy with it, but there's definitely a learning curve. I'm sure you noticed that after converting to XF from IPS. But I am clueless as to the problem with the images showing. My original sunset photo in this thread shows up fine for me, including when it was quoted, and it's a much larger file in KB and dimensions than the last photo I linked to. Here's a smaller photo of me with my first Jeep:

    [​IMG]

    It's linked from the same domain. You can tell I was in the US Army by how they turned a relatively unassuming Jeep & driver into a rolling target with a big white banner with red letters that seemed to translate into Vietnamese as "SHOOT ME, SHOOT ME!" :rolleyes:
     
    ImperialCrown likes this.
  17. Dave Z

    Dave Z It's me, Dave
    Staff Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    32,109
    Likes:
    14,535
    Ummm... yes...

    I'll see what I can do.
     
  18. Dave Z

    Dave Z It's me, Dave
    Staff Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    32,109
    Likes:
    14,535
  19. Grump

    Grump Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes:
    3
    It does force https, but it doesn't force www. You can still access the site with either www or non-www addresses, which is not good for SEO. :( Isn't IT fun? ;)
     
  20. Dave Z

    Dave Z It's me, Dave
    Staff Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    32,109
    Likes:
    14,535
    SEO isn't hurt by it since I set it up in Google Webmaster. Without www, of course, you don't get the green lock.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
Terms of use and privacy policy. We are not affiliated with FCA. We make no claims regarding validity or accuracy of information or advice. Custom material copyright © 2001-2017 Allpar LLC.