AF: Oops! Next Jeep Compass spotted... | Page 45 | Allpar Forums
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oops! Next Jeep Compass spotted...

Discussion in 'Mopar / FCA News' started by Dave Z, Apr 22, 2016.

  1. BobbiBigWheels

    BobbiBigWheels The "Front-Line" Perspective

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    3,245
    Likes:
    4,876
    The gap control is misleading. It has more to do with your speed than anything else. At 50km/h the "one car gap" is truly one, at 100 km/h "one car gap" is nearly 2.5 car lengths. It is brutal for getting cut-off.
     
  2. Ryan

    Ryan Moderator
    Staff Member Level III Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    6,735
    Likes:
    11,766
    I keep my gap at the largest possible setting so I have plenty of time to brake in the event of an emergency. People can cut in front of me all they want, that doesn't concern me as much as preventing a wreck.
     
    gforce2002 likes this.
  3. MJAB

    MJAB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes:
    3,831
    The total capacity is 60 liter, from Brazilian specifications, 52 (about 13.5 U.S. gallons) + 8 liters of reserve fuel.
     
    npaladin2000 likes this.
  4. Mike V.

    Mike V. Mopar-nac The Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    26,427
    Likes:
    22,138
    Thanks!

    Mike
     
  5. Erik Latranyi

    Erik Latranyi Allpar Legacy

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    12,224
    Likes:
    13,233
    The vehicle brakes for you if someone cuts you off. Personal opinion, but I have not found a use for the gap setting other than minimum.
     
    valiant67 likes this.
  6. UN4GTBL

    UN4GTBL Allpar Legacy

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,732
    Likes:
    3,830
    I don't mean to argue, I was just going off the owners manual (which could very well be incorrect):

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Source: 2013 Chrysler 300 Owner's Manual (6th revision)
     
  7. humdrum

    humdrum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Likes:
    720
    60 liters =15.8503231414889 gallons US.
     
  8. npaladin2000

    npaladin2000 LOAD "*",8,1

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    982
    Likes:
    713
    So essentially the Cherokee's gas tank. Which makes sense, it's probably the next biggest one in the parts bin.
     
  9. Dave Z

    Dave Z It's me, Dave
    Staff Member Level III Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    34,814
    Likes:
    20,359
    I'll recheck. Be funny if I was misusing the cruise for four years. That said, the owner's manual isn't always accurate...
     
  10. CDJSalesPro

    CDJSalesPro Allpar Legacy

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,869
    Likes:
    4,345
    ACC was an "option" Does your 300 have ACC?
     
  11. Dave Z

    Dave Z It's me, Dave
    Staff Member Level III Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    34,814
    Likes:
    20,359
    Yup. It was included in the safety group. I wanted the rear cross path system and blind spot detection.
     
    somber likes this.
  12. somber

    somber 370,000 miles

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes:
    1,879
    Just as an aside, I wish FCA would allow those two options on all trim levels of all vehicles. Charge extra for it, yes, but don't make these safety features exclusively a luxury trim option.
     
    jwp44, UN4GTBL and suzq044 like this.
  13. redriderbob

    redriderbob Mopar Guru!
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12,761
    Likes:
    23,186
    Not on the 2014 models... I don't have ACC on my R/T Plus AWD but have the rear cross path and blind spot. Obviously my 2014 R/T Max AWD has it.
     
  14. UN4GTBL

    UN4GTBL Allpar Legacy

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,732
    Likes:
    3,830
    I know the 2011+ Charger had it as it's own separate option package for ACC, which was separate from the "Driver Confidence Group" which included the cross path & such. (Just verified this is an old Canada spec ordering guide) But Chrysler vehicles had it bundled differently I think.
     
  15. Dave Z

    Dave Z It's me, Dave
    Staff Member Level III Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Messages:
    34,814
    Likes:
    20,359
    Y'know, it might be that the mode button wasn't working. We've had two occasions when cruise stopped working because the buttons weren't functional. I never thought of that.
     
  16. Mallard

    Mallard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    453
    Likes:
    397
    I thought all Chrysler ACC systems still allowed standard cruise, either by pressing the Mode button or using the stalk in the pre-2011's.

    The following distance/gap has been improved over the years. The newer systems/model releases can follow pretty closely for an ACC system.
     
    UN4GTBL likes this.
  17. CherokeeVision

    CherokeeVision Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,919
    Likes:
    2,824
    It's been years since I've used cruise control.
    I actually like testing myself and my ability to maintain a constant speed.
    Also means I have to pay more attention which is a good thing. I won't and can't get complacent expecting the car to do things for me.
     
    Prabhjot, wtxiceman and Andy4.7 like this.
  18. redriderbob

    redriderbob Mopar Guru!
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12,761
    Likes:
    23,186
    New Compass Sport spotting...
     

    Attached Files:

  19. npaladin2000

    npaladin2000 LOAD "*",8,1

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    982
    Likes:
    713
    WOOHOO! It's coming! I need a brocheure and a configurator!
     
  20. Rick Anderson

    Rick Anderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,412
    Likes:
    2,042
    What's reserve fuel? 8 liters is about 2 U.S. Gallons, hardly a trivial amount of fuel.

    In the U.S. the filler neck tube isn't counted as part of the fuel capacity. But 2 gallons sounds far too much for a filler neck tube. I watched a blow hard raise a huge stink with a gas station manager over his pumps being off and ripping people off, he just filled his triumph spitfire with more gasoline than is specified as it tank's capacity. The guy refused to believe me when I told him he can get as much of an extra gallon in the filler neck tube that isn't counted in the tank capacity, he refused to believe, and he refused the station manager that brought out a calibration jug and showed it pumped out exactly the same amount of fuel as the pump said. by that time I was done with my fueling and drove off.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
 We are not affiliated with FCA. We make no claims regarding validity or accuracy of information or advice. Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.