AF: PT Cruiser speedometer adjustment | Allpar Forums
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PT Cruiser speedometer adjustment

Discussion in 'Repairs, Maintenance, Help' started by Sam Harmon, Jul 30, 2020.

  1. Sam Harmon

    Sam Harmon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    1
    Hey all, New to the group and excited to rub elbows with those much smarter than me regarding PTs!
    I recently replaced the instrument panel and now the speedometer and tach are about 20% slower than before, meaning, when i'm going 60, it's showing 40. Same with tach...3k shows about 2k. How do I adjust? I've tried the reset method repeatedly: hold down reset > turn key 3 times to hear beep (but not start) and watch gauges and lights dance. I have also taken off needles so I could use my Turbo dash face. Help! Thanks!!!
     
  2. valiant67

    valiant67 ...

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    36,504
    Likes:
    19,090
    The speedometer/odometer is adjusted by setting the pinion factor (i.e.: tire size) in the computer with the proper scan tool.
    However, something is really wrong if the tachometer is reading incorrectly.
     
    wolfsblood07 likes this.
  3. ImperialCrown

    ImperialCrown Moderator
    Level III Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    21,113
    Likes:
    4,300
    Pinion factor wouldn't help a 66% speedometer error. 40mph/60mph x 100.
     
  4. Doug D

    Doug D Virginia Gentleman

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    14,457
    Likes:
    3,916
    My guess is there is an issue with the gauge cluster. What year PT? My '06 Ram 1500 has an issue with the tachometer (reads lower by 400 rpm than it should at times). Research shows the fix to re-tin the solder joints or replace the cluster (no longer available). Might be a similar issue with your PT.
     
  5. chuzz

    chuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    7,919
    Likes:
    1,025
    Hi Sam and welcome to Allpar. You might try looking up fellow member HandyCruiser. He's an ASE certified master mechanic and LOVES the PT Cruisers. I've been acquainted with Todd for several years and he's a great guy. HE has built several nice PT's over the last several years. I'm sure if anyone can answer your question, he can. You can PM him and he'll likely reply within a few days. He's a busy guy.
     
    06PTElectricBlue likes this.
  6. Sam Harmon

    Sam Harmon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    1
    Thanks all. Since I did remove the speedo and tach gauge needles (markers), how do I put them back on so they are in the right location? Could that be my problem?
     
  7. 06PTElectricBlue

    06PTElectricBlue Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Messages:
    811
    Likes:
    929
    In your original post, you said you "replaced" the cluster. Was there anything wrong with the original cluster and if not, can you reinstall it to see if it works correctly?

    Were you just changing clusters to change the dial faces? Do you know for sure that the replacement was working before you removed the needles?
     
    chuzz likes this.
  8. Sam Harmon

    Sam Harmon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    1
    I changed the cluster because the digital odometer wasn't working at all. All else seemed to work good. The new cluster did not have the silver Turbo faces, so I took that off my old one. Had to remove the needles to do that. Did I put the needles back on wrong?, If so, what method do I use to align them correct? Speedo and tach work, but needles show them to be about 20% slow.
     
    Handy_Cruiser likes this.
  9. chuzz

    chuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    7,919
    Likes:
    1,025
    I sent Todd an email alerting him to your post. Hopefully he'll see it and check in with suggestions.
     
  10. Bob Lincoln

    Bob Lincoln "CHECK FAULT CODES"
    Level 2 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    31,828
    Likes:
    5,140
    I would say that you replaced the needles in the wrong position. There should be nothing about changing clusters that inherently affects the accuracy.
     
    djsamuel and chuzz like this.
  11. Handy_Cruiser

    Level 2 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    76
    Likes:
    166
    The silver GT speedometer goes to 140 mph. The NA speedometer only goes to 120 mpg. Installing the silver speedometer face on the NA speedometer is going to read incorrectly. You can use either speedometer cluster, but you can't swap faces.
     
    06PTElectricBlue likes this.
  12. Handy_Cruiser

    Level 2 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    76
    Likes:
    166
    Silver GT gauge cluster with 140 mph speedometer.

    [​IMG]

    NA cluster with 120 mph speedometer.

    [​IMG]
     
    chuzz likes this.
  13. 06PTElectricBlue

    06PTElectricBlue Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Messages:
    811
    Likes:
    929
    Todd, you may have hit on it, he put an NA cluster into a Turbo PT, and changing the gauge faces isn't enough. ;)

    This is from the Service Manual on setting the pinion factor, as mentioned by valiant67. But would this really apply since the PCM wasn't replaced, but the instrument cluster ;)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Or you may just want to search for a Turbo cluster, they can't be that expensive and should be readily available :)
     
    chuzz and Handy_Cruiser like this.

Share This Page

Loading...
 We are not affiliated with FCA. We make no claims regarding validity or accuracy of information or advice. Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.