AF: Right headlight went out on 2007 Compass | Allpar Forums
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Right headlight went out on 2007 Compass

Discussion in 'Compacts: Renegade, Patriot, Compass, Caliber' started by Seagondollar, May 14, 2013.

1. Seagondollar

Seagondollar Active Member

The right headlight went out on my wife's 07 Compass. I'm an electrical engineer with troubleshooting experience and figure the usual checkout sequence.

Check the bulb. When I start to unplug the socket the headlight comes on. So it must not be the bulb. But seeing as it seems to be intermittent, I suspect the socket. I replace that (and did a fine job, I might say), but still no right headlight.

Hmm, maybe the fuse. I search the internet, and previous jeeps had high beam fuses, and separate right and left low beam, but I can't seem to find a specific headlight fuse. There is one 30 amp that feeds the "module-totally integrated power" and I see another person that can't get the HID lights that they installed to work. So I start to have my suspicions. Then I see the "magic" canbus mentioned. Oh, oh...

Called the dealer and figured the service rep will need to check his documentation, but no. Directly he agrees that is is a problem with some module. That we can bring it in, they read the error codes, and reprogram. It will only be $99.50!

Progress, hunh!?

2. ImperialCrown

ImperialCrown Moderator
    Level III Supporter

The TIPM is a 'smart' power management box.
    Outputs are controlled by solid state drivers. No more fuses and relays.
    The TIPM can store fault codes and can be addressed with a scan tool.
    The dealer may be premature in his over-the-phone diagnosis and estimate. The $100 is just a diagnostic fee or minimum charge. If it goes over, they will call you.