Hello, Allpar Forums member or visitor! If you were a member, you would not see this ad!

Register or log in at the top right of the page...

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vinyl Roof on 77 LeBaron .

Discussion in 'F-J-M: Volare, Diplomat, etc, 1977-89' started by Roger G, Oct 11, 2017.

1. Roger G

Roger G Member

Hi everybody. this is my first time posting a request & would appreciate some advice. I have a 77 LeBaron Medallion with a vinyl top that is disintegrating. Am unsure whether or to replace it or remove it entirely. I don't know what the roof is like underneath, & will not remove it until I make up my mind what to do. There are several firms in the U.S that can supply a new top but I would have to find an upholsterer or someone to install it, as I think it would be beyond my abilities. If I remove it entirely & have the roof painted what happens with the trim around the back window. I would have to try to source some stainless trim,and would I still be able to use the existing rubber gasket, or would that be the same. Sorry for the length of this request. I am in Australia . This model (and my 85 Fifth Ave) were never produced or imported here by Chrysler Australia, so all the body & trim parts have to come (expensively from the U.S. Thanks Again.

2. ImperialCrown

Level III Supporter

Welcome to Allpar. I had the weathered top on the Crown replaced by a local trim shop. Vinyl roof re-upholstering is a dying art, but there are still some old-school guys who remember how to do them.
    The compound curved surfaces require expertise to prevent bunching or wrinkles. Mine turned out flawlessly and I was very pleased with the work.
    Carls Auto Seat Covers | Auto Interiors, Convertiple Tops, Motor... (at https://www.carlsautoseatcover.com/ )