AF: What brand is your preference for motor oil? | Allpar Forums
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What brand is your preference for motor oil?

Discussion in 'Compacts: Renegade, Patriot, Compass, Caliber' started by TommyDodge, Apr 24, 2020.

1. TommyDodge

TommyDodge Well-Known Member

Since buying a newer vehicle than my 1997 Dodge Ram (Lady friend bought a 2012 Jeep Patriot Sport) and having put enough miles in a month to change oil a second time (I change oil at 2,000 miles) I have found a new way of marketing oil, at least to me it is new. I see now that oil is full synthetic, partial synthetic, and also the oil I use in the Dodge truck, the "regular or classic" which I have been using for 50 years since getting my first license in 1968. I found out from the people that had the Jeep last that they used 5w20 synthetic oil. I have been using Valvoline since my dad's friend retired from the service station business 40 years ago. We put Valvoline partial synthetic 5w20 in the Patriot, and have been getting around 25mpg on trips moving the lady friend's belongings. I would be interested to have others tell me what they use and what the odometer reading is on their vehicles. Thanks in advance! TommyDodge

2. 71Charger_fan

71Charger_fan Active Member

Whatever's on sale as long as it has the correct API rating. I just bought a lot of NAPA oil on their April specials and took advantage of free shipping over $50.

Scrounge, TommyDodge and Doug D like this.
  3. Doug D

Doug D Virginia Gentleman

Count me along with 71Charger_fan. I generally purchase whatever is on sale - Quaker State, Pennzoil, Valvoline, Havoline, Castrol, etc. I generally don't buy the generic brands. Recently found out Walmart stocks MoPar oil filters. I have used Purolater, Wix and NAPA Gold/Silver.