StaffAllpar HomeMore NewsCarsTrucksUpcomingRepairsTest drives

Chrysler engineering changes

by Bill Cawthon on


In support of the industrial operations of Chrysler Group LLC, the following appointments are announced, effective immediately:

Reporting to Daniel Knott – Head of Vehicle Engineering are the following leaders who will be responsible for all platform specific current and future vehicles. These responsibilities include execution, achievement and management of all functional vehicle attributes, cost, investment, and timing.
Andreas Schell is appointed Vehicle Line Executive – A/B Segment.
Andreas also continues in his role as Head of Innovation & Pre-Program Concepts.
Mark Chernoby is appointed Vehicle Line Executive – C/D Segment.
Mark also continues in his role as Vice President – Executive Coordinator reporting
to Sergio Marchionne.
Christine Barman is appointed Vehicle Line Executive – E Segment.
Benjamin Winter is appointed Vehicle Line Executive – Minivans/MUV.
Matthew Liddane is appointed Vehicle Line Executive – SUV.
Michael Cairns is appointed Vehicle Line Executive – Truck.
Joseph Grace is appointed Vehicle Line Executive – SRT.
Russell Ruedisueli is appointed Head of Vehicle Integration and Validation.
Judy Bridgeman is appointed Head of Program Coordination – Vehicle

Reporting to Andreas Schell – Head of Innovation & Pre-Program Concepts are the following:
Louis Rhodes continues as Head of ENVI.
John Mrozowski continues as Head of Advance Vehicle Engineering.
Joseph Savalle is appointed Head of Features Planning.
Stefan Hertweck is appointed Head of Innovation.
Bruce Coventry continues as Head of Global Electrical Motors (GEM)/Peapod.
Thomas Sacoman is appointed Head of Costs & Methods.
John Digasbarro continues as Head of Design for Six Sigma (DFSS).

Reporting to Mauro Pierallini – Head of Systems & Component Engineering are the following:
TBD – Head of Body Engineering.
Steven Jakubiec is appointed Head of Interior Engineering.
Thomas Cowing is appointed Head of Chassis Engineering.
Alan Amici is appointed Head of Electrical / Electronics Engineering.
Robert Wichman is appointed Head of Engine Systems Engineering.
Nagesh Basavanhalli continues as Head of Engineering – Asia / Central Eastern Europe.
Edward Vondell continues Head of Engineering – Mexico and Latin America.
Dennis Krozek is appointed Head of Program Coordination – Systems &
Component Engineering.

Reporting to Stephen Bartoli – Head of Engineering Planning are the following:
Sharon Atkinson Osmond is appointed Head of Operative Planning. In this position, Sharon will be responsible for all engineering capital expenditures, ER&D budget and resource planning activities.
Ann Wagner continues as Head of Competitive Intelligence.
Jack Withrow continues as Head of Propulsion Planning.
Reginald Modlin continues as Head of Regulatory Affairs.
Gregory Rose continues as Head of Stationary Environmental Affairs.
Matthew Reynolds continues as Head of Product Analysis & Regulatory Processes.
Richard Bieszki is appointed Head of Process & Systems Integration.
Jay Wilton is appointed Head of the World Class Product Development initiative.

Reporting to Byron Kearney – Head of Scientific Laboratories, Vehicle Testing & Proving Grounds are the following:
Antonio Mancina continues as Head of the Canadian Automotive Research & Design Center.
TBD – Head of the Chelsea Proving Grounds.
Mark Cerny continues as Head of the Arizona Proving Grounds.
Michael Doman continues as Head of Engineering Services, Building Planning and Shops.
Kipp Owen is appointed Head of Vehicle Functional Testing.
William Rotramel continues as Head of PowerTrain Testing & Analysis.
Lawrence Sak is appointed Head of Materials, Fasteners & Material Standards.
Thomas Laymac continues as Head of Business Planning and Operations – Scientific Laboratories, Vehicle Testing & Proving Grounds.

Reporting to Robert Lee – Head of PowerTrain Engineering are the following:
Margaret Novacek continues as Head of PowerTrain Systems Engineering.
Terry Gutermuth continues as Head of Core Gasoline Engine Engineering.
Michael Dahl continues as Head of PowerTrain Electrical /Electronics & Controls Engineering.
Joseph Guertin is appointed Head of PowerTrain Program Management.
Christopher Cowland continues as Head of the Pentastar Engine Program.
Mircea Gradu continues as Head of Transmission & Driveline Engineering.
Donald Altermatt continues as Head of Diesel Engineering.
Gregory Pannone continues as Head of PowerTrain Integration.
Jay Iyengar continues as Head of Hybrid PowerTrain Programs.

Bill Cawthon grew up in the auto industry in the 1950s. His Dad worked for Chrysler and Bill spent a number of Saturdays down on the plant floor at Dodge Main in Hamtramck. Bill is also the U.S. market correspondent for, a British auto industry publication, and a member of the Texas Auto Writers Association, which has named the Jeep Grand Cherokee the “SUV of Texas” several times and named the Ram 1500 as the “Truck of Texas” two years running.

Bill has owned five Plymouths (including the only 1962 “Texan”), one Dodge and one Chrysler and is still trying to figure out how to justify a Wrangler. He also has owned at least one of every 1:87 scale model of a Chrysler product. You can reach him directly at (206) 888-7324 or by using the form.

Know & Go screens
Employees created new FCA US app—first available to Ram TRX

Newest Ram Built to Serve models honor the U.S. Air Force

Former Ram chief engineer Michael J. Cairns

More Mopar Car
and Truck News

Some popular Allpar pages

Dodge Demon

2018 Wrangler JL

Staff details/contactsTerms of ServiceInformation is presented to the best of our knowledge. Plans change and sometimes mistakes are made. Decisions or purchases made based on this site's verbiage or images are done at the reader's own risk. Also see the Allpar News archives, 1997-2008 • Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved. • Mopar, Dodge, Jeep, Chrysler, HEMI, and certain other names are trademarks of Fiat Chrysler Automobiles.