Dodge gains a historic racing title

Last night, Dodge was awarded the NHRA Manufacturers Cup in Los Angeles.   It was the first win for Dodge, and the second season-title win in history for any Chrysler brand — the other one was Plymouth’s victory in 1970.

The Manufacturers Cup goes to the automaker whose current-year models earn the most points in national, regional, and divisional events.

Funny Car driver Ron Capps, Matt Hagan, Tommy Johnson Jr. and Jack Beckman, Pro Stock driver Allen Johnson, and sportsman racers James Caro and Kevin Helms were credited as leading the effort for Dodge. Capps was also officially crowned as the 2016 Funny Car World Champion at the ceremonies.

Accepting the award, Mopar chief Pietro Gorlier said, “On behalf of Mopar and Dodge, I extend our gratitude to the drivers and teams that contributed to this monumental victory. Their dedication to Mopar power and the tremendous effort that they put forth, both in the race shop and on the racetrack, have made this possible.”

Bill Cawthon grew up in the auto industry in the 1950s. His Dad worked for Chrysler and Bill spent a number of Saturdays down on the plant floor at Dodge Main in Hamtramck. Bill is also the U.S. market correspondent for just-auto.com, a British auto industry publication, and a member of the Texas Auto Writers Association, which has named the Jeep Grand Cherokee the “SUV of Texas” several times and named the Ram 1500 as the “Truck of Texas” two years running.

Bill has owned five Plymouths (including the only 1962 “Texan”), one Dodge and one Chrysler and is still trying to figure out how to justify a Wrangler. He also has owned at least one of every 1:87 scale model of a Chrysler product. You can reach him directly at (206) 888-7324 or by using the form.

This post was last modified on January 19, 2017, 9:04 am

Disqus Comments Loading...