StaffAllpar HomeMore NewsCarsTrucksUpcomingRepairsTest drives

Next phase: Takata recalls

by David Zatz on

With millions of poorly engineered or built Takata airbags used by nearly every automaker, government and industry chose to recall vehicles state by state and car by car, replacing the highest risk airbags first.

The recall has now hit 317,000 Chrysler, Dodge, Ram, and Jeep cars and trucks, as well as those of other automakers. The current list covers vehicles sold or ever registered in high heat-and-humidity states: Alabama, Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands (Saipan), and the U.S. Virgin Islands.  This recall covers certain 2009 300s, Wranglers, Challengers, and Chargers; and 2009-2011 Dakotas.

A second group covers vehicles sold or ever registered in Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. This one is for the 2009-10 chassis cabs, 300, Dakota, Challenger, Charger, and Wrangler.

Finally, an overlapping recall zone covers Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. This one is for the 2009 Ram 2500 and 3500 pickups, chassis cabs, Aspen/Durango, 300, Dakota, Challenger, Charger, and Wrangler.

In each case, the company will notify owners, and dealers will replace the passenger airbag inflator for free. The recall is slated to start on February 28, and is coded as U03 by FCA. Customers who have moved should make sure that FCA has their new address; and those who bought used cars should register them with FCA.  The company’s customer service line is (800) 853-1403.

Toyota was hit somewhat harder than FCA, with 600,000 cars covered by today’s recall; Subaru, Freightliner, Land Rover, Jaguar, Ford/Lincoln/Mercury, McLaren, Acura, Audi, Honda, Mazda, Thor, Lexus, Mercedes, Ferrari, BMW, Nissan, and even Tesla also announced similar recalls.

Know & Go screens
Employees created new FCA US app—first available to Ram TRX

Newest Ram Built to Serve models honor the U.S. Air Force

Former Ram chief engineer Michael J. Cairns

More Mopar Car
and Truck News

Some popular Allpar pages

Dodge Demon

2018 Wrangler JL

Staff details/contactsTerms of ServiceInformation is presented to the best of our knowledge. Plans change and sometimes mistakes are made. Decisions or purchases made based on this site's verbiage or images are done at the reader's own risk. Also see the Allpar News archives, 1997-2008 • Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved. • Mopar, Dodge, Jeep, Chrysler, HEMI, and certain other names are trademarks of Fiat Chrysler Automobiles.