Allpar Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any advice I could get about fitting issues with putting a 1968 318 and tranny in my 1976 Scamp. It has a 225 in it now but Im wondering if the motor mounts will work...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hi guys... I hope someone can help answer this. I recently bought a 1976 Plymouth Scamp for my 16 yr old son. The car has a 226 slant 6 in it but I found a 1968 318 and tranny that I wanna swap for. Will it fit in the Scamp or will I have to do a bunch of retro fitting??? I'm just a shadetree mechanic but I do have access to the necessary tools. Any advice would be greatly appreciated... THANX!!!

·
Super Moderator
36,916 Posts
No. the motor mounts are different. Transmission mount is the same.
You can either swap the front subframe to one from a V8 car or use the adapters from Shumacher Creative Services:
http://www.engine-swaps.com/
A third alternative, though it requires more skill, would be to cut the ears off the slant 6 subframe and weld them in the location for the V8.
There's a good chance the car has a 7.25" axle if it was a slant 6 car. It might hold up behind a mild 318 but I'd plan on eventually replacing it with an 8.25" rear axle.

·
Registered
560 Posts
You can use the slant six K frame. You should plan to weld it along the seams, as the factory welds left much to be desired. Weld a gusset across the lower control arm to stiffen it, and put in larger diameter torsion bars, too.
Schumacher is a very good source for other parts, as well. Complete firewall seals kit, for instance.

·
Premium Member
4,969 Posts
/6 is better for a 16 year old ;) You can try adding 2bbl carb from a super 6 set-up if you want a little more go.

·
Super Moderator
36,916 Posts
Cudapete said:
/6 is better for a 16 year old ;) You can try adding 2bbl carb from a super 6 set-up if you want a little more go.