Allpar Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought this car from my grandpa about a year ago with about 82k on the clock and have daily driven it up to 89k. I was about 2 hours into a 4 hour drive last week when the temp gauge slowly rose to the top of the normal range. I kept driving. about an hour and a half later she started pouring white smoke and died. (milkshake in the radiator and such) I am now attempting to remove the heads for inspection and new gaskets but I'm not a professional mechanic and don't exactly know what I'm doing. I found step by step directions on how to replace the head gasket on the 2.2/2.5 motor but cant find anything on the 3.0. Please share your knowledge, or If you know of any step by step do it yourself directions please send them! Thanks!

·
Registered
11,098 Posts
I'm sure on this engine you'll have to take the front apart to get the timing belt off and the cam sprockets off. That in itself is fairly major. Also you'll have to remove the exhaust crossover and rear exhaust pipe (converter) from the manifold. Otherwise it is a lot of disassembly and reassembly.
I did it on my 3.0 minivan and took care of a lot things including new valve guide seals and cam seals along with a new timing belt/tensioner and waterpump. I would suggest, as a minimum, picking up a Haynes or Chilton manual. It will really help give you an idea of what is involved.

Here is one picture I had with the heads off:

·
Super Moderator
36,920 Posts
This will be a very time intensive job. John is right on the money - fix as much as you can while it is apart. Water pump, timing belt, valve seals, etc.

·
What sanity?
3,705 Posts