Allpar Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
guys im wanting to make a classy ratrod with my pioneer and want to use a low mile but ugly 4 door68 imperial 58k, miler as the donor

440 engine and trans and drive train
cold a/c
elec windows& seats
disc brakes
etc

does anyone know of a place to compare subframe dimensions and other specs to determine if
1. its a bolt in.
2. its insanity
3. lot of fabrication

Im not afraid of fabricating but sometimes you guys know if its just not worth the effort for the payoff.
are the wheel widths similar etc. I d love to do necessary subframe mods to just bolt the 68 subframe onthe 60 unibody but if theres a huge difference in width and wheel well placement then its probably out the window, and could the rear end swap as well. As you can tell im just getting into the what ifs. gonna buy the cars this weekend if you tell me some good new. am buying the pioneer regardless and will drop in small block stuff even if you nix the imperial(its only 800 bucks and runs/ drives with cold a/c) If you dont know the answers but have ref material that would be a great start. thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
20,074 Posts
Welcome to the forum, and it is a pretty easy swap. Look at some of the engines available for the 60 and you should find the 361 and the 413 were optional engines, along with some other wide block A engines, and when you see 361 or 413 is an optional engine, it is then a direct bolt-in, I would not try the swap of the Imperial subframe to the 60, there are a lot of differences between the dimensions and would be much more work than it is worth. If you want better handling, go with larger diameter torsion bars, which I do the swap myself for much better handling over stock sized torsion bars.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3