Allpar Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm a new driver and I currently have my brothers first car ('69 Plymouth Valiant)
It's pretty old, and has had a lot of issues in the past, but we took it to a mechanic and they fixed majority of the issues and some more weird things are starting to happen (of course)
Lately it's been skipping, in the morning it's pretty bad. When it warms up however, it stops, and runs just fine.
I think it could be the distributor head, but I'm not entirely sure.
Randomly it won't start and I'lll have to take off the airfilter cover and get it jumped.
And one of the tail lights doesn't work, but it think thats some electrical stuff that i can just take to a mechanic and get fixed pretty fast.

if you can help in anyway, i''d appreciate it!!
thanks,
daisy

·
Premium Member
20,074 Posts
First thing to do is a tune-up, a morning miss like this is typically spark plug wires that are leaking electricity when cold because of moisture (or high humidity), and when cold, electricity will always travel the least path of resistance, so, if the spark plug wires are old then the material they are made of can have moisture and humidity allow the electricity to "leak" until it warms up and the moisture is gone. I have had this with several vehicles, especially a Dodge Dakota. Check with the mechanic bill to see what was done, it you don't see sparkplugs, sparkplug wires, distributor cap, points, condenser and rotor (the last three are not needed IF electronic ignition is in the distributor, it may have been converted, ask your brother).