Allpar Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I've ran into a dilema. I have a 70 Charger 500 SE w/ a 383 Mgnm. I kept having problems with my gauges pegging out then the next time I started my car, they wouldnt work. I'm not a mechanic nor an automotive electrician but I do have a 70 Charger/Coronet shop manual that described this problem. The automotive electrician I took the car to in the first time said that it was just a bad gauge so he replaced it with a working one. Well the car kept doing the same thing with the gauges & he said it couldnt be the limiter that they wouldnt work at all. Well after a couple of years of getting different items for my car as I dont drive it often, I finally decided to take on the task of replacing the voltage limiter & the printed circuitboard myself. I had the gauge cluster out of the car & had a guy that works on small motors & gears look at my tic toc tach which he couldnt get running. :frusty: .
By the way, the points & condensor system was converted to elec. ign.