Allpar Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having problems with no power to the fuel pump plug. Wife was just cruising down highway and it spit and sputtered and died. Got it towed home no fuel pump kicking into prime but if dump little gas in throttle body will fire up and die. Fuel pump was replaced not even a year ago.

So just went ahead and replaced fuel pump relay with no luck. So decided to check plug plugs back at the fuel pump and sending unit, and no power to fuel pump plug I'm not good with wiring but the plug to the fuel pump should get 12 volts with the ignition on and if my research is right there is no fuel pump fuse but a fusible link right?

Any help on how and what to test or try next would be great, before I rip the rear seat out and start tracing fuel pump wires back up front

Thanks

·
Super Moderator
31,983 Posts
When you turn the key to ON with the engine not running, there is only power to the fuel pump for 1 to 2 seconds. Then the ASD relay opens up and shuts down the fuel pump relay. This is to prevent fuel flowing after a crash or rollover, with ignition still on.

So if you turned it to ON, unless someone had a voltmeter *already* connected to the plug to watch for voltage, there would be no voltage showing after 2 seconds. You need to repeat the test with another person at the pump with a voltmeter already connected.

Or just listen carefully for the pump running for a second or two when you turn the key to ON.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Bob Lincoln said:
When you turn the key to ON with the engine not running, there is only power to the fuel pump for 1 to 2 seconds. Then the ASD relay opens up and shuts down the fuel pump relay. This is to prevent fuel flowing after a crash or rollover, with ignition still on.