Allpar Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
370,000 miles
1,493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Chevy is advertising heavily during the NFL games I've watched. The commercials feature the Silverado EV, Blazer EV, and Equinox EV prominently, with a little tiny bit of Bolt thrown in for seasoning. The first three are vehicles that are close to a year away from sale. I'm no marketing expert, but isn't this a waste of money? Or are they hoping to get car shoppers to wait instead of buying a currently available EV from other manufacturers?

Maybe it's like the lab budget at an employer I used to work for - at the end of a fiscal year, my department would go on a lab shopping spree, buying expensive test equipment (such as spectrum analyzers), power supplies, fans, fancy soldering stations, etc. The reasoning was the money was there, and if we didn't spend it by the end of the fiscal year we'd lose it. Maybe something similar is happening at Chevy with their advertising budget?

·
Administrator
1974 Plymouth Valiant - 2013 Dodge Dart - 2013 Chrysler 300C
40,234 Posts
It's for marketing. Buy from GM, we are not stodgy, we are “with it,” we are modern. Most people don’t buy EVs even now, but see EVs as the mark of a company with high technology and progress.

·
Super Moderator
7,145 Posts
Chevy is advertising heavily during the NFL games I've watched. The commercials feature the Silverado EV, Blazer EV, and Equinox EV prominently, with a little tiny bit of Bolt thrown in for seasoning. The first three are vehicles that are close to a year away from sale. I'm no marketing expert, but isn't this a waste of money? Or are they hoping to get car shoppers to wait instead of buying a currently available EV from other manufacturers?