Allpar Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, just wondering about the 3.6L engine and when they plan on making it Direct Injection for Wrangler apps? I read lots of rumors Cal Year 2014-2016? Does it look like Cal Year 2015-2016 now since 2014 is comin' quick? Any info would be great, or just an educated guess. Thanks for letting me join.

ADee

·
Super Moderator
36,929 Posts
There isn't confirmation that the 3.6 will get direct injection, let alone when that will be if it does.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks. You mean they might skip it altogether? I read calendar year 2014-2016 and that was the last I heard of it.

ADee

·
Active Jeeper
31,129 Posts
Welcome to Allpar.
I seem to recall reading that the head design made direct injection difficult to accomplish with the Pentastar, but I would have to research that.
If true, it means they would likely work on other things first, rather than redesign a brand new engine. Watch first for DI on other variants of the Pentastar.
The Allpar Pentastar page says 2014-2016, so the 3.0 (Maserati) would likely be the first application.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
MoparNorm said:
Welcome to Allpar.
I seem to recall reading that the head design made direct injection difficult to accomplish with the Pentastar, but I would have to research that.
If true, it means they would likely work on other things first, rather than redesign a brand new engine. Watch first for DI on other variants of the Pentastar.
The Allpar Pentastar page says 2014-2016, so the 3.0 (Maserati) would likely be the first application.