Allpar Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Thought I should report some quite unusual brake problems I have been having with a VE Valiant I am trying to get back on the road, as it may help somebody else. I am a newbie here so apologies if it is a really well known problem, but I could not find it after surfing many forums.

Problem:
No matter how much I bled the brakes, you had to double-pump the pedal after which the pedal felt good, i.e. did not feel as if air in the system, it felt as if a brake shoe or pad had retracted too far.

Previously had replaced entire brake system, new remote servo, recon master cylinder, new slave cylinders at rear and rebuilt front calipers with new seals and pistons.

I then scoured the forums. Did the usual suggested things; Took master cylinder off and bench bled it, Adjusted rear brake shoes up until just rubbing the drums, bled brakes several times again. No improvement.

So, problem was something was not close enough to a brake disc (rotor) or drum so had to double pump pedal to push it closer, after which brakes would work fine.

Tried adjusting rear shoes til locked against drums - problem still remained.
Tried PTFE tape around threads of bleed screws, so air did not get sucked in past the threads, then quasi-vacuum bled brakes using gentle suction and a syringe (some people swear by this method) - still no better.

So, it must be the front calipers retracting too far, strange and rare as that may seem. The pistons are supposed to retract by the flex of the square section piston seal as it springs back, they are not sucked back as you might imagine when you release the brake pedal. Therefore caliper pistons should not retract too far (unless wheel bearings loose and rotor is wavering left and right as it turns).