Allpar Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i/ve measured over 15 degrees of timing variance with this cam which likes to go for a walk. Checked the chain and gears and what am i missing?
:excited:

·
Registered
8,042 Posts
While I'm not a mechanic, I have been around cars for over 40 years and have never heard of such a thing. Are you sure the rubber hasn't slipped on your harmonic balancer causing the difference? Dana 44 is good on the big block stuff, so maybe he'll see this and enlighten me. And you'll know what he's talking about.

·
Premium Member
20,074 Posts
Since you are talking about the timing jumping around and not the cam itself moving, I would investigate the distributor itself. There is a bushing in the block that holds the distributor shaft in alignment, and then there is the helical gear that drives the oil pump, the distributor plugs into it with a hex. The walking could be a worn intermediate oil pump shaft or a worn bushing, allowing it to twist up and down on its own. Next thing to look at is the springs within the distributor for the mechanical advance. If you pull the base plate the points/electronic ignition sit on, one of the two springs in there may have become weak, broken, come off its pin, so the timing itself would bounce around if not controlled by the springs.

The only way the cam itself will walk around is if a roller cam had been installed and the cam button wasn't installed, which keeps the cam aligned, something you didn't mention, thought I would point it out.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4