Allpar Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will just be driving My Valiant around town and to car shows. I have a storck 727 tranny and I was woundering if it can handle 500 HP?

·
KOG
6,994 Posts
That depends on how it's used and what speed/torque is put through it. But most of the time, no way. It can be modified rather easily.

·
Premium Member
20,074 Posts
A shift kit will heip improve that amount of power if on the street, racing at the track is another thing, some actual better components are needed. A shift kit increases the line pressure so that much power doesn't slip the clutches and bands as easily.

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
My dad (and his dad) were big fans of the 318 w/ same (or similar) transmission, and my initial reaction on reading the question was, "No way!" But I'm not a mechanic, like they were.

I was reading some threads here, about which I had no clue, so I thought it amusing that I think I know something about this :)

What do you have in it that makes that much power?

Just for reference, Dad did take the 318 out of a '61 Plymouth station wagon, and put a 440 in there for the purpose of hauling a travel trailer. May have installed a transmission cooler, but I don't know for sure. This was in the early '70's, IIRC.

·
Registered
2,652 Posts
I will just be driving My Valiant around town and to car shows. I have a storck 727 tranny and I was woundering if it can handle 500 HP?
I suppose it wouldn't matter if you had even 800hp. if you only plan to use car as a 'daily driver'. I doubt you would be utilizing anything close to your anticipated hp rating just by putting around town and to the occasional cruises. Of course there would be many internal concerns should you decide to take it to the track and initiate a 'brake stand'. Yes, please tell us more of what you have under the hood (and between the rear wheels). :stirthepot:

·
KOG
6,994 Posts