Allpar Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
DO NOT LET YOU KID (or other inexperienced driver) DRIVE THIS CAR !

First off, I have 34 years of driving experience and owning in at least 50-60 different makes, models cars, trucks, bikes etc...

I am not prejuded to any make/model/brand in particular.

I am currently in the market for a new daily driver. I have driven many new cars lately to include the 2013 Dart.

While at the Dodge/Chrysler dealership yesterday, I decided to test drive a new 2012 200 with the S package. This included the new Penstar 3.6 w/283 HP.

Well, I took it out to put it through it's paces like I do every other new car.

While on a deserted straight and level back road, I punched it to test the car's acceleration. I was SHOCKED when the engine was getting past 5000 RPMs and the front end started wandering WILDLY !! I literally about lost control!

I have NEVER experienced such poorly engineered torque steer! I couldn't believe how BAD the torque steer was so I tested it several more times. Yep, the suspension is a total POS when put under heavy throttle!

The car did ride nice and handled fair under "normal granny style" driving. Outside this zone, the car is flat out DANGEROUS!

Don't believe me ? Go drive one for yourself !

I really felt compelled to WARN other potential buyers of this product !!

DO NOT LET YOUR KID (or other inexperienced driver) DRIVE THIS CAR !!!

·
Super Moderator
31,981 Posts
And what did you say to the dealer? What was the response?

My wife bought a 2012 200 Limited with 4 cyl. I have punched that to its limits a couple of times and it was rock steady. Yes, a lot less hp, but if your experience were typical, I'd expect to see some of the same on our model.

·
Registered
1,710 Posts