Last night, Dodge was awarded the NHRA Manufacturers Cup in Los Angeles.   It was the first win for Dodge, and the second season-title win in history for any Chrysler brand — the other one was Plymouth’s victory in 1970.

The Manufacturers Cup goes to the automaker whose current-year models earn the most points in national, regional, and divisional events.


Funny Car driver Ron Capps, Matt Hagan, Tommy Johnson Jr. and Jack Beckman, Pro Stock driver Allen Johnson, and sportsman racers James Caro and Kevin Helms were credited as leading the effort for Dodge. Capps was also officially crowned as the 2016 Funny Car World Champion at the ceremonies.

Accepting the award, Mopar chief Pietro Gorlier said, “On behalf of Mopar and Dodge, I extend our gratitude to the drivers and teams that contributed to this monumental victory. Their dedication to Mopar power and the tremendous effort that they put forth, both in the race shop and on the racetrack, have made this possible.”