Two-time NHRA Funny Car champion Matt Hagan will celebrate Mopar’s 80th birthday in a redecorated nitro Hemi-powered drag car, starting this weekend at the 38th annual Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals near Denver.

80th anniversary NHRA drag car - Matt Hagan

Both Leah Pritchett and Matt Hagan will drive cars with Mopar 80th anniversary graphics (Hagan, in at least five NHRA national events). The racers will have new fire suits with Mopar 80th anniversary branding, while their crews will have similarly fashioned team shirts.

Matt Hagan brought home NHRA World championships in 2011 and 2014; Leah Pritchett has had several wins this season, and set the national Top Fuel elapsed-time record with Hemi power. Mopar chief Pietro Gorlier said, “It’s already been an amazing year for Mopar-powered drivers and it’s just going to get better as we cheer on Matt and Leah in special Mopar anniversary graphics.”

Hagan is second in the standings and holds the current NHRA Funny Car National record for elapsed time (3.802 seconds). Pritchett has  seized three wins, is second in points in Top Fuel, and owns the elapsed time record in Top Fuel (3.658 seconds).  Mopar-powered DSR drivers have had 16 wins in the Nitro classes in 2017.

See History of Mopar: the first 80 years