Allpar Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently had a dealer supplied A604 transmission installed in my daughter's '93 LeBaron convertible. This evening as I was removing the left front strut to swap in a new unit, I noticed the inner CV boot was ruptured. As I moved the wheel hub away from the lower strut mounting bolts, the driveshaft slid partly out of the differential, followed by most of the transmission fluid. This surprised me as I am new to Chrysler mechanicals; the European cars I am familiar with have flanges on stub shafts (coming out of the differential) that bolt to the driveshafts. According to Haynes, I should have to use a prybar to coax the driveshaft out of the differential. Please reassure me that this is all normal, the driveshaft will indeed just slide right back into the differential without leaking ATF and it was probably loose because it was so recently mated to a new transmission. It just seemed kind of weird that you can loose your atf because driveshaft movement is only limited by the hub being bolted to the strut. No mechanical means of retention other than friction? No spring clip or anything?

I removed the right strut without losing control of the driveshaft/differential interface. Of course, I was a bit more careful...

bryan in Kentucky

·
Super Moderator
31,984 Posts
The engine should be centered after anytime the driveshafts are removed or move. They'll probably be fine the way they are, but good to measure, anyway.

http://www.allpar.com/fix/engines/centering.html

·
Registered
116 Posts