Allpar Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A friend has a '67 Dart with the 225 slant 6 and we are having trouble getting the dwell set. Kind of a tough spot to get at to get the point gap set. The manual states the dwell angle should be 40-45. Our first attempt gave a dwell angle reading of 25 and on our next attempt we got it to 32. Since then we have went back to 25 and 23 and constantly have problems getting the point gap set. It is always either too wide or when we remove the gauge the points snap closed. What are we doing wrong and is there an easier way to do this? I am a chevy man and used to being able to set the dwell with an allen wrench via the little window on the distributor cap, this is my first attempt at working on a the slant 6 and I figure there has to be a better way of performing this procedure. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Your best bet might be to remove the distributor and set the point gap with the distributor on the workbench. You'll be much better able to set it accurately that way and thus the dwell will be within the proper range when the distributor is reinstalled. Two words of caution:

1. Make sure you don't drop anything inside the distributor.

2. The distributor can only be installed two ways. The correct way or 180 deg. off. Be sure you get it right or you may not even be able to start the engine. If it does start it'll run like crap or possibly even backfire. GM used a gear for the distributor drive and was much more easily misinstalled.

Also, be certain you install the rotor before putting the distributor cap back on or you'll be wondering why the engine won't start. I know this from making this stupid mistake myself!

Be prepared to set the timing after all of the above.

·
Super Moderator
31,983 Posts