Allpar Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2004 Chrysler Sebring 4 Dr,2.4 .Was driving home from work the other night and after hitting a frost heave,no to big of one,the engine just shutdown.All electrics work.Che led all connections,I could find.Any suggestions would be appreciated.81,000 miles and always taken good of her.Was dads car.
Thanks

·
Registered
8,042 Posts
Welcome to Allpar. Sounds like you may have a broken timing belt to me. But, I'm not a mechanic by trade.

·
KOG
6,999 Posts
Start by checking for spark and fuel, as usual, and post back.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Purchased the crank sensor,had to remove the starter to get it out and installed new one.I believe I need to clear the codes before proceeding.The following codes are present P0016,P2074,P340,P137 and finally P0138.
Due to the fact that the battery is in the wheel well,can I clear the codes with a OBD2 or do still need to disconnect the battery.
Thanks to all.

·
Super Moderator
31,983 Posts
I won't swear to it, but I think if you disconnect the negative cable at the jumpstart connection underhood, that will disconnect the battery.

·
KOG
6,999 Posts
Should be no need to clear codes, just start it and they'll clear after a while anyway.

·
Premium Member
4,969 Posts
Had a similar problem on my PT. It was a worn wire in the wiring harness.

·
Premium Member
4,969 Posts
Trace back the crank and cam sensor wires. There is a place they connect. This is where you will find the problem.

·
Super Moderator
21,364 Posts
P0016 may be the clincher. Is the timing belt jumped or broken?

P0016-CRANKSHAFT/CAMSHAFT TIMING MISALIGNMENT
When Monitored: Engine cranking and Engine running
Set Condition: Powertrain Control Module detects an error when the camshaft position is
out of phase with the crankshaft position. One trip fault.
POSSIBLE CAUSES
INTERMITTENT CONDITION
CHECKING INTERMITTENT CMP SIGNAL WITH LAB