Allpar Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
The Contrarian
3,610 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Currently I drive for work a 98 Voyager with a 3.3/automatic.

Boss wants to refresh the company car, but wants better fuel economy than the van delivers

Any real world feedback on the 4 cylinder Journey's or the V6.

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
I can only speak about my own of course, but it's an R/T with AWD and the 3.6L (2011). I do find that it's the first Chrysler vehicle I've owned where I can't seem to ever match Transport Canada's economy ratings on the highway. Every other car I've owned I've been able to beat the ratings at times. I think I would have to use pretty aggressive hypermiling techniques to even get close with this one. In city driving though, it seems to pretty much match the ratings. I'm getting in general at best about 9.5L/100km on the highway and around 12L/100km around town. (I'm a fairly gentle driver.) It actually does seem a little worse lately - maybe it's the chillier weather.

·
Virginia Gentleman
14,674 Posts
We've had two Journey's - a 2009 SXT 3.5L V6 and currently a 2010 SXT 3.5L V6. Both averaged about 19-20 mpg in "local" driving which was better than the 15-16 mpg we averaged with our previous '00 T&C Ltd AWD 3.8L. Even my '06 Ram with the Hemi averaged better (17.4 mpg) than the T&C - go figure.

On long trips both averaged 25-26 mpg on the highway (70 mph with AC on, moderately loaded), slightly less (23-24 mpg) in hilly terrain.

Personally, I would stay with the V6 - the 4 cylinder (mated to the 4 speed auto) is only marginally better than the V6 (3.5L or 3.6L) when it comes to fuel mileage. The Journey is too heavy for the 4 banger to get "great" fuel mileage.

·
Administrator
35,248 Posts