Allpar Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
10,432 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I remember driving the original Rams when I was a CDPJ salesman in the 1990s. The diesels were LOUD!

The original Dodge Ram looks TINY next to the current one.

MSRP was $18,000 in 1994 ($31,725 in today’s dollars) for the original Ram; $71,000 for the 2020.

Personally, I’d take the original one.

Which one would you take?

Reactions: BASONE88

·
Super Moderator
37,239 Posts

·
Registered
530 Posts
Loved my 94 pearl blue short bed Laramie.

5.9L Magnum engine and she could haul [I should have my mouth washed out with soap for using such terms].

Paid 18k at Paul Bailey's in North Kingstown, RI.

Love my 15 5.7 Hemi pearl blue Big Horn. I'm not a leather fan so I stick with cloth.

Paid 38k at Bales in Jeffersonville, In.

·
Virginia Gentleman
14,798 Posts
Have to admit my '06 looks puny compared to the new ones. Especially the HD's. Saw a 2019 Ram 2500 (Cummins) parked with a camper. Truck was huge.

Noticed a late '90's Dodge Ram for sale on my way to church (private seller). Looks to be in decent shape. Should stop by and see how much he wants.

·
Registered
3,636 Posts
Well I still have my second generation truck that I bought new. Yes it's a diesel and yes it's loud. The sticker in 2002 was 38 grand and some change. Which is about 54 grand in today's money. I haven't priced 2500 Laramies today, but I have priced 1500 Laramies that are about 54 grand.

·
10,432 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I’m all for simplicity these days.

·
Registered
129 Posts
I have a 2018 RAM 2500, and I have to say I love it. The 94 is cool, and it would be fun to have one as a run around town truck. For every day, and what I do the 2018 does the job.

·
Registered
2,951 Posts
But why have they grown so much given they have the same capacity? Big rigs are constatly trying to down size for more load wereas pickups go the other way.
- is that people whant size more than capacity?

·
Registered
3,636 Posts