Allpar Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys.

My name is Lemorris Harris.

I'm here because my 17 year old son was given a 1964 Valiant.

2 door, slant 6, 3 speed manual, extremely cool car.

We're really excited about it.

I have a radiator in route and a new fuel sending unit and we hope to try to start it.

I am going to have easily 1000 questions and I have spent some time scouring this forum so I know many of you can help.

I did an Allpar intro, but this is where we will be hanging out so I wanted to say hello and let you guys know what we're dealing with.

I have a 1958 VW that has been my daily driver for 11 years. I am not a mechanic though. I am silly enough to bite off more than I can chew and chew it till I win though. :)

After a bit, I'll start a thread and share more. I'm one of those lotsa pictures, videos and other fun stuff guys so...anyway

Thanks for having us.

very excited.

p.s.

By day I'm an automotive illustrator:

more on my site: http://www.lemorris.com

That's not why I'm here though.

·
Premium Member
20,080 Posts
Well heck, if you're an automotive illustrator you are halfway there. If you have passion for that, getting grease under the fingernails and being able to see your fingerprints for days on end is the next step, the third step is giving a blood sacrafice to the car Gods to let them know you really care. This latter one is supposed to be small, no broken bones, but the occasional (once every two decades at most) stitches may be part of this sacrafice.

Ask away with the questions as they come up, a good factory shop manual (FSM) which are pretty cheap online as remakes, is definitely something worth investing in, gives us both a reference to questions and answers, and don't let the special tools, that can always be worked around.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
lol