Allpar Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, first of all thank you in advance for any and all advice or input. I am new to the Mopar community. Loved them since I was a kid, but have just now been able to reach a point that I was able to purchase my first Mopar project.
I am currently working on a 74 Plymouth Roadrunner, with an Edelbrock modified 440, 727 Tourqueflite with TCI Street Fighter valve body, Mopar performance ignition, and a few other goodies. I purchased the car from a seller about 8 weeks ago, and the first day I got it out to drive I bottomed out and ripped a hole in the oil pan. It sat up for the last 6 weeks, but I recently finished getting the new pan installed, replaced the oil and zinc add, and put everything back together. Had to replace the battery yesterday and did so, now I can get the engine to turn over and rough start but will not idle. Just dies immediately. I can see a visual spark every couple of starts coming from plug number 7, as well as when I am able to get the engine to fire up blowing carbon out of the back. Any ideas what might be causing the car to not be able to stay cranked? I can provide other info if needed.

·
Super Moderator
32,272 Posts
I'd do a full tuneup. Sounds like bad plug wires.

Reactions: pt006

·
Registered
17 Posts
Hello, first of all thank you in advance for any and all advice or input. I am new to the Mopar community. Loved them since I was a kid, but have just now been able to reach a point that I was able to purchase my first Mopar project.