Allpar Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Purchased a 2006 Pt cruiser 2.4 l turbo. When vehicle is started it runs extremely rough at idle and then it smooths out when accelerator pressed. When you come to a stop you have to press the acelerator softly or car will die. Once at highway speeds the car runs great until coming to a stop then car wants to die. I've taken it to auto zone to have a diagnostic run but it shows error instead of codes. Im not a mechanic . Can someone please help me. What should I check first.

·
Virginia Gentleman
14,977 Posts
You need to get the "P" codes. You may need to use a scanner. An inexpensive one ($50-$65) will at least give you the engine codes and maybe the transmission codes. Sounds like all the shop did was run the key dance and see what came up in the mileage display. Some auto parts retailers (Advance, AutoZone) will read the codes for no charge. I suppose the "error" reading was a miscommunication between the scanner and PCM?

When were the plugs/wires last changed? Any vacuum leaks?

·
Registered
8,290 Posts
I'd try cleaning the throttle body (throttle body cleaner and NOT carburetor cleaner), first and then put a bottle of Techron Fuel System Cleaner in the gas tank and run a couple of tanks of gas through it and see if it improves. But Doug is right. You really need to find someone to check the codes on it first. My idea will only cost you about $10 and a little time. Please do NOT start shotgunning parts at it and hope that fixes it. Something else you may want to consider is getting the battery load tested. 06 was the first year for the TIPM in the PT Cruisers and they're very sensitive to voltage changes. If your battery is weak, the PT will NOT run correctly.

Reactions: 1999 White C5 Coupe

·
Registered
3,029 Posts