Allpar Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 99 Grand Caravan. I apologize for not searching for an answer, but the search function here seems to be producing odd results.

I have been fighting with a brake problem for a couple of years now; I have posted about this before. Today I took another look at the rear drums. It appears that the one remaining from when the van was new was seized up. I already had planned on replacing it, so that it fixed.

Now, I have been told that the brake booster is bad. The symptoms are primarily grabby brakes on the first push, an sometimes hard brakes (so my wife says). I was talking to a guy at the parts store and he asked me if the brakes make a Woosh sound when the pedal is pushed. I staed that yes, they did, He told me the booster is bad. Is this true? Are there other possible things to check? If it is bad, how the heck do I get it out of the engine bay? Looks as though the intake must come off.....

·
Super Moderator
21,346 Posts
A 'whoosh' while holding the pedal down would be a vacuum leak from a torn internal diaphragm. The booster would need replacement.
If the master cylinder is leaking brake fluid out the rear cup into the booster, the cylinder would be needing replacement as well.
The 'wiper bucket' can be removed to open up a whole lot more room to get at things in the engine compartment.

·
Super Moderator
36,907 Posts
I concur, and IC is right about the master cylinder leak possibly being the cause of the booster failure.

·
Registered
1,804 Posts