Allpar Forums banner

Loose pushrod

1880 Views 28 Replies 9 Participants Last post by  chuzz
I'm in the process getting a '66 Coronet 500 with a 318 poly running again after sitting in a garage since 1993. I'm extremely new at this and took this on as a learning project with the goal of keeping it stock and as original as possible. As I turn the engine over with no valve covers on and no plugs in all of the valves are moving as they should except for 1 intake valve. It seems the rocker arm is going through its full motion but isn't pressing the valve down, when the pushrod is in its lowest postion it has about a quarter inch of play, at its highest it just pushes the rocker until it touches the valve stem but doesn't push it. Everything I look at says these are solid lifters. Not sure where to go from here?
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

· Super Moderator
12,313 Posts
These are mechanical lifters, and the clearance between the tip of the valve and the tip of the rocker arm is critical. It's measured with a feeler gauge, and typically, is on the order of something like 0.010 inches for intake valves, 0.020 inches for exhaust (this is not necessarily the exact value for your engine, this is for a slant-6, but representative of the scale).
So if you see a quarter inch with the pushrod fully down, someone has seriously backed off that adjustment. On the slant-6, the adjustment is made with engine hot and idling, which is difficult, but necessary to get the clearance right, with thermal expansion. On the 318, the gap and the procedure may be different. But you turn the hex nut at the rocker arm clockwise to decrease the gap, and counterclockwise to increase.
With that kind of a gap, the valve isn't opening.

· Registered
1966 Coronet 500 Hard Top 318 poly Former: 2011 Grand Caravan 3.6 1988 Lebaron Convertable 2.5
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·