Allpar Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi Im new to this site but not to mopars. I am rebuilding my dads 98 dodge ram pickup truck( i know not the coolest ride around but it was his, he passed away last year) from the ground up. I am wanting to build this as reliable daily driver with some @#$. Im hoping to recieve some help on ideas with the magnum engine. To me they are great building ground but I am still learning all the ins and outs about them. Any ideas on heads, pistons, cam setup, fuel injection would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
4,262 Posts
It all depends on what you really want to do with it, and how much you want to spend.

A good "freshining" rebuild would suit most needs. Unless you are going to change the heads, even a small cam is a waste of time IMO. The heads are very limited in stock form. And the stock castings are prone enough to cracking, that porting the stockers is a potential waste of time as well.

The biggest changes that I could recommend to you would be the following:

M1 2bbl intake. This gets rid of the leak prone factory beer barrel intake. Not a cheap manifold, but worth the price.
Ported stock TB or a billet 50mm TB. Many places for these, helps getting the air in.
1.7 Roller rocker conversion. I would say go with Harland Sharpe non adjustable's, as they are pretty much a bolt on and go setup, and will help build a little more torque
Headers will help, but are not a must.
To get the most out of the current setup, I would recommend a SCT tune. This can get even more potential out of your current combo, and will help maximize the benifits of the above changes.

That list will add 40-50 ftlbs of torque across a pretty broad band, and make the truck drive much better, with more reliable long term performance, and give nothing up in terms of longevity.

Danno

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3