Allpar Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,

I spent a couple of weeks studying here and whatever I could find on the PT Cruiser. I've finally managed to register successfully, so will provide some information.

I am completely new to PT Cruisers, though I liked the first one I saw, and most of the rest. I do have pretty good experience with first generation Neons, but only with the MTX cars. I had an 06 Sebring vert - was that the same automatic that the PT gets?

My wife and I drove from Mississippi to Indiana SUN, and home MON in her new 06 PT Cruiser GT vert. It was on Autotrader, and everything looked good. The car was a one-owner local trade-in, so that suggested a good car, or it would have gone far away.

It is linen (soft gold/tan) with tan interior and top. Cathy wanted a manual, but the one I found that suited me was in Florida, and sold before I could work out the logistics. For the best, I think. This one is an automatic, with heated seats and 6 CD radio. It still has the boot and floor mats, and is nearly flawless in appearance.

Cathy drove it home, 520 miles, with only a couple of stops. We got about 26 MPG, running mostly freeway at 70-75 MPH. The EVIC average showed 22, but I don't have any history to make that meaningful.

Things that need attention,

The windshield washer nozzle, drivers side, is broken and needs replaced. Will this be a common problem, and a junkyard solution?

I am sure that I can hear a "whump, whump, whump" that seems to be driver's side front. Any known problems to check?

I found an inexpensive adapter kit to add an auxiliary input jack for the radio. How easy is the radio to remove? Will I trip some relay and kill the radio?

I hope to be able to participate here, contribute some, and ask a lot.

Thanks,

Michael
06 GT vert

·
Registered
118 Posts
Greetings Michael and welcome to the PT family.