Allpar Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, being in college, I figured a good set of speakers would be a good investment. Except, again, being a college student, I was going to have to do it without the investment bit. So I dug around in my attic before hitting up the yard sales, and I found an old pair of Pioneer TS-6905 triaxials. Fantastic! Hooked them up to an even older Radio Shack "Realistic" receiver that I had used to play music at parties, and... the noises coming out were terrifying. The high and mid drivers seemed fine, but it was pretty clear that the big 6x9 lows needed some love. The foam was COMPLETELY disintegrated. Not a problem, got a refoam kit from Simply Speakers (HIGHLY recommend, these guys really know how customer service is supposed to work, and they stock tons of kits) and did them myself. Sound is fantastic now... but the old Realistic was just too big for my tiny apartment. So I popped over to eBay and found one of those little Chinese 2-channel amps ... to be shipped to me, FREE, from Hong Kong for $11.99. The manufacturer promised 100W from the thing, so I sprung for it, figuring if it was rubbish, I'd only really spent a couple of Cokes worth of cash.
Well the little amp arrived a couple weeks later, in a box marked as a "gift" for customs purposes... Opened it up, and I was astounded at how small it was. I can literally put it in my pocket. Front and center is the "delightful color change volume adjust", or a little halo LED that changes color in time to the music around the volume knob. There's a knob for bass and treble, and an on-off pushbutton. That's essentially it. A speaker wire spring terminal, an RCA input and a 12v jack round out the package