Allpar Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what does a p0440 and p0441, i also have had a p0300 , so i changed the coil,plug wires and plugs, as per a friend that works mainly on mopars for many years, the engine misfire went away for a few miles, roughly 40 or 50 miles and misfire come back, it would miss at an idle, turn on ac it started missing real bad, i can take off real fast and engine missfire goes away thru all rpm range, but if i level off ,steady speed miss fire comes back a little, . my friend said maybe i got a bad coil, so i went back to adv---- auto, pulled the intake back off, and replace coil ,wires ,plugs again, car run fine for a few miles again,. now the missfire is a little worse, and i checked the codes again ,now i have the codes listed above, does any one have any ideas, im a decent mechanic, old school, but i can replace parts ok , just not up on all the new electronic stuff, and i dont really want to pay the dodge dealer to play guessing games with my car, im pretty good at that myself, oh this might help, ive got a 2003 pt cruiser ,automatic ,non turbo, any ideas any one,,, thanks johnny

·
Super Moderator
21,369 Posts
Welcome to Allpar. P0300 (multiple cyl misfire) can be commonly caused by plugs, wires and coil, but like any fault code should be diagnosed first before just replacing parts...twice.
It can be ignition, fuel or mechanical related. There was a spark plug change for some 2.4L engines:
http://oskin.ru/pub/chrysler-dodge/manuals/Temp/TSB-08-008-04.pdf
The correct Mopar/Champion Coppers or NGKs are recommended as other brands or types may cause problems.
P0440 and P0441 are evaporative emission faults that may be related to each other, but not to the misfire.
NVLD stands for Natural Vacuum Leak Detection. It took the place of the older LDP-Leak Detection Pump. Go by your underhood emission hose map to trace the evap vapor flow.