Allpar Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2001 Pt Cruiser Limited 2.0L 141HK 4-Speed
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Gentlemen.
By a stroke of Luck, I found the post from earlier this month about idling issues :
2001 pt cruiser idle issue
Background Scenario :
The 1st week of January, the yellow 'motor warning'-light lit-up while driving in town which has a speed limit of 50km/hr.
I drive primarily only a few miles per trip about 5 times a week doing errands.
I took the car to my mechanic to take a look at the 'motor warning' problem and booked a time for him to 'check-out' the car before its yearly DMV-inspection and to change the oil & filter from Germany which I've been using since 2001.
After about a week, the light went out by itself and a couple days later my mechanic did the booked service, checking-out things done at yearly inspection.
The day after, I got the car inspected, with all things in order except the expected brake-pad that We knew was finished.
Long story short, a couple of days later, the 'motor warning' light lit-up when I cold-started the car in the morning and...the idle was most definitely off.
Kind'a like gasping for breath.
That was over 1 month ago.
Fast forward :
When I read the thread ^^ABOVE^^ I had already changed the # 4591611AA MOTOR-AIR IDLE SPEED sensor and cleaned the Throttle Body.
After reading the post I also replaced the # 04606197 Mopar Throttle Position Sensor also.
My mechanics have now for a total of 3 times, checking the 'computer data' , tried to get the light to switch off.
The idle is more or less ok when the car is NOT moving.
However, when...'rolling to a stop' the idle fluctuates for 2-3 seconds between 1,000-2,000 rpms.

Do You Guys have any suggestions?
I'm sure it's not a vacuum or a compression problem.
The butterfly valve is ok.