Allpar Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody,new to the forum.
just bought a 2001 pt cruiser,with a transmission issue.
will go in reverse like nothing is wrong,neutral i normal,but drive seems like trans is locked up and engine stalls.
anybody experienced in this matter?
i am a licenced tech,familiar with most inner workings,but this issue has me a little stumped.

any suggestions would be appreciated.
thanks in advance.
Frank

·
Super Moderator
21,359 Posts
It sounds mechanical or hydraulic. The TCM fault codes (if any) may need to be read with a more advanced scan tool than a generic engine code reader.
There are hydraulic pressure taps across the front of the case underneath the solenoid pack for more diagnostics. See what is applied when it shouldn't be.
It sounds like an internal leakage or blocked valve body vent may be applying the lock-up converter clutch when it shouldn't?
If the vehicle is already rolling forward when dropped into gear, does it still stall?
Has the pan come down for a look? Use ATF+4 only.
http://www.scribd.com/doc/93730784/41TE
http://www.shinseiauto.com/japanese/transtar/42rle.pdf

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i can bring it to a stop ,once it stops,it behaves -i cant say normal as running with wheels in the air makes things behave different than on the ground.
i didnt want to drop fluid ,for one getting mopar atf+4 is a challenge in itself.

seems like its not in limp-in as it seems to shift from low and through the gears.
its like the lock up is engaged without a command.

may drop pan this week,and clean valve body.perhaps i should wait for the real service manual...

i seem to have a little trouble with this forum,i mispaced the original thread,and posted another,i will attemt to remove it to keep things sorted.

getting the hang of it now,methinks.

·
Virginia Gentleman
14,671 Posts