Allpar Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a Purolator air filter. Is that a good brand? I can't find any tests of it online.

(2) I also purchased 5 quarts of Mobil 1 at Pep Boys and asked them to perform the change. The idiot mechanic poured all five quarts in (instead of stopping at 4 and a half). When I asked why he said, "The computer doesn't show halves so it just rounds-up to 5." :-o Pep Boys sucketh.

·
Registered
8,042 Posts
Purolator filters are excellent filters. I've been using them for nearly 15 years now and have NEVER had any problems with them. I use the air filters on both of my vehicles and use the Pure One Gold filters for my oil changes.

·
Super Moderator
31,981 Posts
This is why I never let anyone change my oil.

Purolator is a great brand, as are all the major brands.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I was on my way to work and couldn't really crawl under a car. I wonder if they forgot to apply grease to the air filter's edges before installing it? Most likely.

·
Super Moderator
31,981 Posts
??

·
KOG
6,994 Posts
Grease on air filter? Not even!

·
Virginia Gentleman
14,672 Posts
Yes, Purolator is a good quality air filter. I've used them with no issues. I've also used Fram, NAPA and other air filters.

As far as Pep Boys, fine for purchasing oil, coolant, other brand name items, but I stay away from their service dept and parts.

Grease on the air filter? What's with that?

·
Registered
844 Posts
I wouldn't worry about a Purolator air filter.

However, on the oil filters... I used to use their Pure One oil filter on my Ford. Some years ago I had a series of filters that seemed to have anti-drainback valve problems (i.e. noisy dry-sounding startups accompanied by slow oil-pressure buildup, like the 1st start after an oil change on that car) and haven't tried them again since.

·
Virginia Gentleman
14,672 Posts
Jeff2KPatriotBlue said: