Allpar Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
New
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2018 renegade since new, well I bought it in 2019 as a back model but it had the bad oil consumption issue right off the bat. I bet in the first 10,000 miles, I put 4 quarts in. The first coming after only 2500 miles. I am a mechanic...well industrial by trade (30 years) and I do ALL my own car work. NEVER paid a mechanic to do anything. Point is, I knew something was weird, but was ok putting oil in it, and had read that the 2.4 engine was known to burn some oil.

So I let myself get past it.

Stories all over about the oil consumption and it goes like this " My jeep died in the middle of an intersection, had it towed to the dealer and it had NO oil! its only 8 months old!"

Thankfully I tuned into the issue right off the bat, although in all honesty since the oil consumption DID slow down after about 15,000 miles I got lax about checking the oil so often. There was a point at about 30,000 miles where I did get the engine shut down due to low low oil. It is a protective measure after all...some people dont understand that. I agree its a bit harsh and even dangerous.

It has 39000 miles on it and so far so good. I got a letter about a recall a couple months back and it said it was about excessive oil consumption. It said some units got out with certain parts tolerances that caused the high oil consumption...and that the motor may shut down because of that.

I was expecting an offer to rebuild the valve train, maybe shut the diesel sounding idle up, but as I read the notice, they are going to re flash the computer...and its clever the way they word it---to make sure the motor doesnt shut down, and to reduce oil consumption. Im not sure how, if the oil issue is caused by excess mechanical clearances, how re-flashing the computer is going to reduce consumption.