Allpar Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi There,

New forum member here. I plan to replace the head gaskets on my 2013 Jeep Wrangler 3.6. While I am an experienced former tech, I have some questions about the job and the parts.

In case folks are curious, the Jeep has ~85,000 miles on it and it runs fine. The symptom is that coolant overflows into the coolant tank and does not get pulled back into the engine. No bubbles in the radiator and no burning coolant out the tail pipe (I know that distinct smell well). The coolant overflow and the radiator do smell of exhaust once you take the caps off and a block tester confirms the issue (blue fluid turned yellow). I plan to skip the cylinder leak down test and plan to replace both banks. I am aware that bank 1 (passenger side) is more difficult and requires pulling the timing cover. I plan to replace the head gaskets, head bolts, rocker arms, front cover gaskets and maybe the lifters. My Jeep is a January 2013 build and the Julian date code on the bank 2 head puts me out of the affected range for loose valve seats.

Anyway, here are my questions. Thanks in advance for any advice.
  • FelPro makes a head gasket set and head bolts for this engine. Is there any reason to go Mopar over FelPro on these parts?

• I have the factory service manual but cannot find a specification listed for shaving the head. Can the Pentastar 3.6 heads be shaved a little to bump compression?

• Is there any reason to replace all the HLAs at 85K miles unless there is a symptom? From what I understand, this part has not been updated, unlike the roller rockers. I know how to check them individually - just wondering if they should all be replaced as preventative at this mileage.