Allpar Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read about this for years and most of the persons replying recommend replacing the wheels. But what if that is a budget issue? I've been driving mine since July of 2000 and although I'm on the 4th set of tires I still have the original wheels. And about four times a year I have to take them to a tire guy who dismounts the tires, grinds the wheel lips and applied a rubbery paint on material (don't know the name) then remounts and balances the wheels. No leaking - - - for about 3 months. Then the process starts again.

I was just wondering if anyone else has some up with a successful fix for this problem short of replacing the wheels. Oh, I'd love to but its far less expense albeit not that often to have the wheels "sealed".

Ideas anyone? Thanks

·
Super Moderator
21,365 Posts
A spray bottle of slightly soapy water will locate the leaks. Common at the valve stem-to-rim, tire-to-rim or there may be a nail in the tire.
If you are in the salt belt, there isn't much else you can do. Once corrosion starts, you can wire-wheel it off and re-apply sealer. I only have to do it once every 3 or 4 years.
If you are having to do this 3 or 4 times a year, there is something wrong.

·
Registered
1,087 Posts